Speakap currently offers to reach your employees through timeline updates, polls, events, tasks, and news items. The validity of these messages is, however, limited. As new messages get posted, your content will slowly sink within their timelines.
For some content, however, this behavior is not desirable. They would remain relevant, and thus you want to allow easy access to them at any time.
To make sure you have a place where you can share information that is super relevant to your employees at all times, we have the Pages feature. This feature allows you to create content pages and add them directly to the main menu of the Speakap platform. This way the information on these pages is always within arms reach of your employees. The number of pages is not limited, you can create as many pages as you need to.
Pages can be useful for:
- Onboarding new employees
- Acting as a knowledge base
- Calamity and emergency communications
- Any other type of relevant information that needs to be easily accessible
As a network administrator or Business Unit/Local Department or Group admin, you are able to create a custom content page by clicking on the "+ Add new page" entry in the left menu.
Adding a title and selecting an audience
Every page needs a name. This name is shown on the top of the page and on the main menu as a button to reach your page.
Any page must have an audience. Just like in news, you can set which business unit(s), department(s), or group(s) can see the page, or else set it for the entire network.
(please note: Business Unit/Local Department or Group admin only can their own Business Unit/Local Department or Group)
The editor allows you to format your page with the following options:
- Headings H1, H2, H3, H4, H5, H6
- Fonts: Bold, Italic, Underline, Strikethrough
- Text alignment (Left, Right, Centre, Justify)
- Lists: Bulleted, numbered
- Active links
- Inline: files, images, videos
- Embedded: URL, videos
- Up to 5 videos per page or 100 images per page
- Copy / Pasting formatted text from Office documents
No time to write and publish a page in one session? No problem. Articles you did not publish are automatically saved every 3 seconds as drafts and thus can be resumed at another time. The article will be saved automatically every 3 seconds. Your drafts will already appear on your menu labeled “Drafts”, but will not be visible to anyone else.
Adding images, videos or files to the page
It’s possible to add an image, video or file to your page. Please keep in mind that it is not possible to play the video when it’s still in draft, but only after you have published the page.
- Number of videos allowed per page: 5
- Number of media attachments allowed per page: 100
- Maximum size of media uploads: 256MB
The media types we support are:
- Image: JPEG, JPG, PNG, HTML
- Video: MP4, MPEG, MPG, WMV, AVI, MOV, WEBM
- File: PDF, XLS, DOC
Publishing the page
When you're done creating your custom page, it's time to reveal it. Just hit the "Publish" button at the bottom of the page and confirm the dialog you see, and you're done!
Editing a page
Once the page is published, it's possible to change its contents by hitting the "Edit" button on the top right of the page. When you're done editing just hit "Save and publish" to make the changes public to the members of your network. Please bear in mind that unpublished edits are not saved (unlike drafts).
Deleting a page
You can delete a published page by pressing the "Delete" button on the top right of the page. Please be aware that once the page has been deleted, there's no way of getting back its contents.
How to use it?
It is enabled on Speakap for you - there is no need for any further change on your side. While creating, editing, and deleting pages is available only on the browser, the look and feel of the published pages will be consistent through all the platforms (browser, iOS, Android)
You may want to allow other people in the company to manage pages, so we introduced some new configurable permissions for Pages. You can find these in the ‘Roles’ section in your network settings.
With these, you can select which users can post, edit or delete Pages. They can be combined, to reach the level of permissions you desire for the role.
To assign a permission to a role, you can take the following steps:
- Go to Network Settings;
- Go to the Roles section;
- Open the role you would like to assign this permission to;
- Go to the ‘Pages’ tab;
- Add the desired permissions to your role.
At the moment, we have the following Pages Permissions:
Publish page to the network
Publish pages to the network, edit and delete your own pages.
Publish page to any group, location, or team
Publish pages to ANY group, location, or team without needing to be a member of it (except for secret groups), edit and delete your own pages.
Edit any page
Edit & publish any page where you are part of the audience. No changes to the audience are allowed, unless you are an admin of all the audience list.
Delete any page
Delete any page where you are part of the audience.
You can assign these permissions to any role within your network. By default, the network administrator role within your network already has these permissions assigned to it. Next to this, group administrators automatically have these permissions for their group and all its sub-groups. For example:
- Business unit administrators can post a page to the entire business unit, all its local departments and sub-groups.
- Local department administrators can post a page to the entire local department and its sub-groups.